Kyrgios stormed into the fourth round in New York for the first time in his career and also became the first Australian player to beat a world No.1 twice in the same year since Pat Cash in 1987.
Yet it came at a cost with tournament officials hitting Kyrgios with a $5859 financial penalty for an audible obscenity during the match.
LIVE UPDATES: US Open day eight – follow all the action
READ MORE: ‘Outdated’ NRL stance that ‘needs to change’
The chair umpire had issued Kyrgios a violation for the incident, which was later followed up with a fine.
“Tell me where to f—ing serve,” he yelled towards his box.
“F—ing three times. Say something. F—ing hell.”
It marks the third time Kyrgios has been fined so far at this year’s US Open after he was docked $11,500 for spitting and swearing during his second-round win over Benjamin Bonzi.
He was also fined another $5859 for racquet abuse during a doubles match with Thanasi Kokkinakis, taking his total to more than $23,000 for the tournament so far.
For a daily dose of the best of the breaking news and exclusive content from Wide World of Sports, subscribe to our newsletter by clicking here!